Cigma Racing Clubman 1000 – Round 2

The second round of the Cigma Racing Clubman 1000 Cup took place on the 8th and 9th of April at Pembrey in Wales.

The BMCRC hasn’t been to the Pembrey circuit for 5 years, so everyone had a bit of a learning curve to get up to speed on the twisty track. Thankfully, good weather across the weekend made that a much easier job.

©2023 Chequered Flag Images

Clayton Grover started the weekend well by qualifying his Yamaha R1 in pole position for the Cigma Racing Clubman 1000. continuing his great run of form at Brands Hatch last time out.

Clayton turned the class pole into a win in the first race of the weekend, although Seb Jenkins was working his GSX-R 1000 K6 hard to catch him for the whole race distance. Cecil Dinsmore took the last step on the podium on board his GSXR 1000.

Two more 13-lap races followed on Sunday. In the first, Clayton and Seb again took the top two places. But this time it was Chris Taylor, riding the Cam Civils and Landscaping BMW S1000RR that took third after Cecil couldn’t finish the race.

©2023 Chequered Flag Images

In the second Sunday race, Chris Taylor made a great start, passing Seb Jenkins on the first lap and holding that position for 7 laps. But he couldn’t keep the charging Seb behind him for the whole race and had to settle for third in the end.

Clayton again took the class win, making it three from three and cementing his position at the top of the table.

The next event takes place at Snetterton over the 6th and 7th of May. We would love to see your there to support all the riders.

Check our Events page for all the details.

Cigma Racing Clubman 1000 Standings after Round 1

1Clayton GROVER145
2Lee HEALEY104
3Chris TAYLOR80
5Daniel FARLEY58
6Simon GATES30
7Roberto GREGORIO29
9Martyn DELLOW25
10Connor SWYER22
12Cecil DINSMORE16

Race 1 Results

PositionNoRiderTimeMPHBest Lap
137Clayton GROVER10:31.91582.941:02.038
27Seb JENKINS10:35.78982.441:02.564
3129Cecil DINSMORE10:40.40181.841:02.342
4224Lee HEALEY10:45.14781.241:03.254
591Chris TAYLOR10:47.42080.961:03.777
6281Daniel FARLEY10:49.94380.641:03.434
730Alex PENRICE10:55.40079.971:04.134
846Simon GATES10:55.55979.951:04.545
9184Martyn DELLOW10:26.66875.271:07.040

Race 2 Results

PositionNoRiderTimeMPHBest Lap
137Clayton GROVER13:31.107841:01.478
27Seb JENKINS13:34.07183.71:01.639
391Chris TAYLOR14:01.26180.991:02.169
4224Lee HEALEY14:03.38980.791:03.806
546Simon GATES14:05.40280.61:03.784
630Alex PENRICE14:13.82879.81:04.441
7184Martyn DELLOW13:57.94875.061:06.803

Race 3 Results

PositionNoRiderTimeMPHBest Lap
137Clayton GROVER13:28.45684.281:01.133
27Seb JENKINS13:35.55283.551:01.541
391Chris TAYLOR13:43.46282.741:02.225
4224Lee HEALEY13:51.42981.951:03.037
546Simon GATES13:52.64381.831:03.165
630Alex PENRICE14:12.77679.91:04.063
7184Martyn DELLOW13:33.75577.291:05.354

Thanks to Chequered Flag Images for photography from the event.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *